- Blackness Castle
- Callendar House
- Culloden House Hotel
- Culloden Moor and Battlefield
- Culross and Culross Palace
- Dean Castle
- Deanston Distillery
- Dowanhill Street
- Drumlanrig Castle
- Drummond Castle Gardens
- Dysart Harbour
- Falkland Palace
- Glasgow Cathedral
- Gosford House
- Hopetoun House
- Hunterston House
- Kinloch Rannoch
- Loch Katrine
- Midhope Castle
- Muiravonside Country Park
- Pollok Country Park
- Prestonpans Battle Site and Memorial
- Torbrex Farm
- Tullibardine Chapel
- Touch House
- University of Stirling-Pathfoot building
- Wardpark Film and Tv Studios
- Wardlaw Mausoleum
BLACKNESS CASTLE -Fort William -Blackness, Linlithgow EH49 7NH
Roger and Bree visit Wentworth Prison in the 1970s in ep 13 Dragonfly in Amber
CALLENDAR HOUSE Callendar Road Falkirk, FK1
Located in Callendar Park, near Falkirk, Callendar House is an impressive mansion with a rich history including the part it played in the Jacobite uprisings. In 1745 its owner The Earl of Kilmarnock took part in the uprising.
Steeped in history, this gorgeously decorated 14th-century house, set within the grounds of Callendar Park, is an architectural gem. During the 19th century, it was redesigned and extended in the style of a French Renaissance chateau fused with elements of Scottish Baronial architecture. Calendar House contains a small museum and records library and is home to multiple displays about the history of Calendar lands from the Roman era, to the Jacobite era, through to the present day. It is also an exclusive wedding venue and opens for public viewing.
Standing in for the Duke of Sandringham's residence where Claire is brought by the Redcoats and then held captive in ep 11 ‘Vengeance is Mine'.
The authentic Georgian working kitchen was used as part of Bellhurst Manor, the home of the Duke of Sandringham. It was used later in the same episode where Jamie and Murtagh rescue Claire and Mary once again meet the Duke of Sandringham, and Murtagh brutally exacts revenge on the traitorous Englishman when he finds out the Duke was responsible for the attacks on Claire and Mary.
In ep 11 “Vengeance is Mine” they filmed in the kitchen where Claire and Jamie once again meet the Duke of Sandringham, and Murtagh brutally exacts revenge on the traitorous Englishman when he finds out the Duke was behind the attack on Claire and Mary.
- Open All Year (closed Tuesdays and some public holidays). 10 am to 5 pm.
- Free entry
- Wheelchair access
CULLODEN HOUSE HOTEL Culloden Rd, Balloch, Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ
Culloden House Hotel is not a filming site for Outlander but it is connected. Touch House was where they filmed the Culloden House scenes. Diana Gabaldon has stayed here several times and there is a seat in the beautiful Forbes Walled Garden dedicated to her.
This 16th century Jacobian castle stands on nearly 40 acres and dates mostly from 1772 to 1783. It was a property of the Mackintoshes and Edmonstones but sold in the 1620s to the Forbes family and Duncan Forbes of Culloden is on the record in 1625.
Duncan Forbes of Culloden, Provost of Inverness, was a Hanoverian, who fought with Butcher Cumberland at the Battle of Culloden. Bonnie Prince Charlie had used the house before the battle, but many wounded Jacobites were brought here after the fighting, and the killed. Forbes was against the slaughter and nearly got himself into trouble by protesting and is said to have died soon after the battle because of a broken heart over the treatment of the Jacobites.
The house has many Jacobite mementos and is now a hotel and is reputedly haunted by the ghost of Bonnie Prince Charlie. The apparition of a man dressed in tartan is supposed to have been witnessed on several occasions.
*Information from The Castles of Scotland
We included Culloden House in our tour and had a lovely afternoon tea there. The staff are wonderful and the afternoon tea is delicious.
For more information about visiting the hotel contact them on the website link in the heading or on their Facebook page.
Culloden Moor, Inverness IV2 5EU
The battlefield is where the Government forces faced the rebel Jacobite army in the Jacobite uprising in 1746, under the command of Bonnie Prince Charlie, and were slaughtered in a short bloody battle. The gravestones were laid to mark the graves of fallen clansmen who were buried in mass graves. The wall outside of the information center is a monument to the men who lost their lives in the battle. The protruding stones represent one man for each stone from the Jacobite side and the inverted stones for the British soldiers who fell. The battle only lasted one hour and 1500 men were killed, 1,000 of them were Jacobites.
Although the Culloden battle scene was not filmed here it is still a location many fans like to visit. It is defiantly a somber and moving place that makes you think about the casualties of war. One of the main drawcards is the Clan Fraser gravestone, even though Jamie Fraser is a fictional character, it's more than likely there was at least one James Fraser buried here. The visitors center is full of memorabilia and information. There is a 4 min 360-degree battle immersion film you can watch and I recommend doing this prior to visiting the battlefield. It gives just a tiny visual as to what it must have been like for those men and boys in the battle that day. Once you have walked the battlefield head back into the museum and check out all the weapons and unique artifacts on display. On the moor is the restored 18th-century Leanach Cottage.
The battlefield is quite large but is flat easy walking with paths to follow and information along the way. You can hire a motorized scooter if need be. The Battlefield is cared for by the National Trust of Scotland.
There are some Outlander scenes filmed in seasons one, two, and three. In season two Claire visits the Clan Fraser gravesite. As an Outlander fan, I wanted to visit the site but respect is needed. The Outlander fans visit often which has both positive and negative effects. On the plus side, more people know about the battle and the loss and more money go to the center to help fund the preservation of the battlefield, and visitors center on the negative, not all that visit the site pay it the respect it deserves. Be respectful of the site, it is the site of a very tragic event in history.
- 1 Oct–19 Dec, Wed-Sun, 10.00–16.00
- 20 Dec–11 Jan 2022, closed
- 12 Jan–29 May, Wed-Sun, 10.00–16.00
- 30 May–2 Oct, daily, 09.00–17.00
- 3 Oct–23 Dec, Wed-Sun, 10.00–16.00
- 24 Dec–11 Jan 2023, closed
- Current period1 Jan–31 Dec, daily
- Adult £11.00
- Family £27.00
- One adult family £22.00
- Concession £9.50
- National Trust members - Free
Blair Castle, Culross, Dunfermline KY12 8JH
Some of the season two scenes filmed at the Palace were -
- In Episode 11 'Vengeance is Mine', The Jacobite encampment, and Claire's makeshift hospital where she extracts teeth and tends to other injuries.
- In Episode 10 'Prestonpan's' In the Palace High Hall - where Jamie advises Bonnie Prince Charlie to keep marching to London - war room.
- The Palace Kings room was used for Jamie and Claire’s bedroom
- In ep 11 -Dougal barges into the room showing Jamie a letter ordering them to return to Inverness
- The Palace Pantry stands in for a tavern where claire is taken in Vengeance is Mine when the redcoats stop at the tavern for the night before they deliver Claire to the Duke of Sandringham's house.
The Bennet House - near the palace exterior street scenes were filmed here
Dean Rd, Kilmarnock KA3 1XB
The castle is located in Dean Castle Country Park in Kilmarnock, East Ayrshire. The castle was once the stronghold of the Boyd Family and was originally called Kilmarnock Castle. Robert the Bruce gave the castle and grounds to Sir Robert Boyd in 1316 for his support at the Battle of Bannockburn. The Boyds were the lords of Kilmarnock for over 400 years. The Castle takes its name from ‘The Dean’ or wooded valley.
The county park covers over 200 acres where you can visit the Rural Life Centre and learn more about sustainable living and enjoy some beautiful woodland walks, learn more about the history of the estate and spot wildlife along the way. There is also an adventure playground and an Urban Farm on the estate. Nearby is the Dick Institute Museum and Gallery.
Appearing as Beaufort Castle in episode 8 “The Fox’s Lair”, Dean Castle in Kilmarnock is used to portray the home of Jamie’s grandfather, Lord Lovat of Fraser (The Old Fox) and the Seat of Clan Fraser and where Jamie and Claire ask Lord Lovat for aid for Charles Stuart.
Diana Gabaldon often bases characters in her books on actual people and Lord Lovat is one. When we visited the castle it was under renovation so we couldn't go inside but we had a lovely chat with one of the guys that worked there and who was an extra in the filming.
- Park and Grounds Open All Year.
- Shop/visitors center
Teith Rd, Deanston, Doune FK16 6AG
As soon as Claire and Jamie arrive in France, in the port of Le Havre, Claire discovers a sailor to be suffering from smallpox in episode 1 ‘Through a Glass darkly’. This takes place in Jamie’s cousin’s warehouse, filmed in the Deanston Distillery. They still have barrels of whisky with the Stamp used in Outlander along with some from the filming of Angels Share another popular Scottish movie.
The building dates back to 1785 and was originally a cotton Mill. You can take a tour like we did to see the exact location along with the whisky-making process and try a wee dram in a taste test.
Housed in a former cotton mill, Deanston Distillery provided the setting for Jamie’s cousin Jared’s wine warehouse at the docks in Le Havre. Take a behind-the-scenes tour of the distillery to discover the centuries-old tradition of whisky distilling.
OPEN All Year
The Victorian townhouses of Dowanhill Street in Glasgow’s West End stood in as a street in Boston, USA. 124 Downanhill street wad used to film the outside of Claire and Franks home in Boston in the 1950s and 1960s.
The is a residential area so be respectful of people's privacy, we bumped into a local when we were there and he was happy to talk about when they were filming there.
Thornhill DG3 4AQ
This category A listed castle in Thornhill, in the Dumfries and Galloway region, is also known as the ‘Pink Palace’ because of the pink-colored stonework. It is situated in the Queensberry Estate. Once the Stronghold of the Douglas Clan it is now home to the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch and Queensberry.
The castle dates back to the 17th century. It played a part in the Jacobite rebellion. Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed there in 1745 on his journey north to Culloden. The castle has 120 rooms, 17 turrets, and four towers and is filled with treasures like Rembrandt’s Old Woman Reading, Landscapes by the Dutch masters, and fine furnishings and antiques.
The 90,000-acre Estate boasts miles of beautiful walks, acres of gardens, mountain bile tails, salmon fishing in the river an adventure playground for children, and hosts of events.
You can even stay in one of the apartments or holiday cottages.
The castle was used to represent the Duke of Sandringham’s residence, the grounds of which were being used by the British Army as an encampment in ep 11 'Vengeance is Mine.
OPENING DATES & TIMES
Visitors to Drumlanrig can enjoy the following areas.
- The Estate Walks, Trails, and Stableyard Businesses. – Open all year
- The Gardens, Adventure Playground, and Larchwood Cabin – Re-open Easter 2022
- The Castle – Reopen Easter 2022 (Groups welcome all year by appointment)
Please note the businesses operating in the Stableyard all open differently, please contact each directly for more information.
- From 1st July 2021, a £2.50 car parking charge will be introduced.
- Regular visitors can take advantage of an ‘Estate Parking Ticket’ for £15 to cover unlimited parking for the remainder of 2021.
- Toilets, & showers
Muthill, Crie PH7 4HN
Drummond Castle was built on a rocky outcrop by John, 1st Lord Drummond around 1490. The Gardens date back to the 17th Century and are credited to the 2nd Earl of Drummond from 1630 to 1636. The original Keep still stands but the rest of the castle was restored by the 1st Earl of Ancaster in 1890. Further additions were made by the 4th Earl. The gardens suffered as a result of the Jacobite rebellion and were eventually abandoned until the early 19th century when they were re-established by Clementine Drummond and her husband Peter Willoughby. The Sundial which is still present was installed in 1630.
The famous gardens at Drummond Castle were used in episode 5 “Untimely Resurrection” to play the part of the Gardens of Versailles. Jamie and Claire come across BJR and King Louie in the gardens. Claire has a conversation with Alex Randall about Mary, Jamie, and Murturgh doing some practice sword fighting in ep 2 'Not in Scotland Anymore'.
Other films you may recognize the gardens in are Rob Roy (Liam Neeson), they were the gardens owned by Montrose in the film. The gardens are often used as the backdrop in advertisements for local businesses and often feature in the Perthshire calendars.
Drummond Gardens are available to view with our Garden Plan. The many varieties of trees and shrubs are identified including the Copper Beech planted by Queen Victoria in 1842.
You can enjoy a short Woodland Walk in Daggan Wood, with wonderful views of the Castle and Keep. Access to the walk is from the Gardens. This is a link to a map to follow.
This is an aerial view of the Castle and gardens filmed with a drone.
- Castle Closed/Gardens open 1st May-Sept
- Note: the castle is not open to the public only the gardens are.
- Adult (16+) £10
- Child (5-16yrs)£4
- Family ( 2 adults and up to 3 children) £22
- Picnic benches
There are tearooms, pubs, and restaurants nearby in Crieff.
Le Havre France
The Harbourmasters House, Hot Pot Wynd, Dysart, Kirkcaldy KY1 2TQ
The harbor dates back to 1450 and has a rich history and is still a busy harbor. The locals are very friendly and happy to chat about their time during the filming.
In Outlander Dysart Harbour was transformed into Le Havre Harbour where Jamie, Claire, and Murtagh escape from Scotland and arrive at the harbor in episode 1 'Through a Glass Darkly'. It was the location of St Germain's warehouse where Claire treats a gent with smallpox and the Comte’s wine had to be destroyed.
OPEN Harbour- all year.
- Shop/visitors center
East Port, Falkland, Cupar KY15 7BY
Located in the heart of Falkland, the Palace was a popular country residence with the Stuart monarchs and a particular favorite of Mary Queen of Scotts. Inspired by the grand chateaux of France, in the 16th century James IV and his son, James V, transformed this favored retreat of the royal Stuarts and the palace became one of the finest examples of Renaissance architecture in Scotland.
The palace has one of the oldest Royal Tennis courts which dates back to the 16th century and was used by Mary Queen of Scots. It's still used by locals and is referred to as “tennis heaven”.
Visitors can wander through the historic orchard, complete with a living willow labyrinth, the formal gardens designed by Percy Cane, or wander through the castle itself.
The Castle fell into disrepair after 1660 but was saved from ruin in the 19th century by the 3rd Marquess of Bute who have the palace a new lease of life.
The castle is filled with intricate wood paneling, impressive painted ceilings, and beautifully carved furniture.
In Outlander it appeared in episode 12 “Hail Mary” episode and was used as the apothecary where Claire buys medicines from Master Raymond to help treat Alex Randall. This was filmed in what would have once been the kitchen in the castle.
- Last admission is at 16.15
- 1 Nov–28 Feb 2022, closed
- 1 Mar–31 Oct, daily, 11.00–17.00
- 1 Nov–28 Feb 2023, closed
- Last entry to the garden at 4.30 pm
- 1 Nov–28 Feb 2022, closed
- 1 Mar–31 Oct, daily, 11.00–17.00
- 1 Nov–31 Dec, closed
- 28 Apr–23 Dec, Wed-Sun, 11.00–17.00
- 24 Dec–28 Feb 2022, closed
- 1 Mar–31 Oct, daily, 11.00–17.00
- Adult £13.00
- Family £30.00
- One adult family £23.50
- Concession £9.00
- Trust Members - Free
- Street parking
Castle St, Glasgow G4 0QZ
The crypt of Glasgow Cathedral was used as the inside of the L’Hopital des Anges. This is where we meet Mother Hildegarde and the nuns of the Couvent des Anges in episode 3 'Useful Occupations and Deceptions' and episode 4 'La Dame Blanche' where Claire volunteers as a nurse during her pregnancy.
In episode 7 'Faith' Claire is brought to the hospital after she goes into early labor after watching Jamie in a duel with Black Jack Randall and their daughter Faith is stillborn at the hospital.
Specifically, the Glasgow Cathedral Outlander location is the crypt, which is also a notable location in Netflix’s Outlaw King (2018). Glasgow Necropolis, just behind the cathedral, is worth a visit too.
- Free tours
- Entry is free but you must book as they have introduced limits on visitors due to covid restrictions. Masks are mandatory.
- The last entry slot is 2 pm to 3 pm.
1 Apr to 24 Dec:
- Mon to Sat, 10am to 4pm (closed for lunch 12pm to 1pm)
- Sun, 1 pm to 4 pm
29 to 31 Dec:
- Daily, 10am to 4pm (closed for lunch 12pm to 1pm)
5 Jan to 31 Mar:
- Mon to Sat, 10am to 4pm (closed for lunch 12pm to 1pm)
- Sun, 1 pm to 4 pm
Longniddry, EH32 0PY
Gosford House is a neoclassical country house situated on 5,000 acres of parkland and coast. It is the family seat of the Charteris family, the Earls of Wemyss and March.
Originally designed by one of Scotland’s greatest architects, Robert Adam the home was constructed by the 7th Earl of Wemyss in 1790. Robert Adams loved symmetry and would install fake doors so that the house would align. If you go on a tour ask the staff which of the doors are fake and where the hidden passageways are.
in 1891 the 10th Earl of Wemyss reinstalled the wings that had been previously destroyed and they were reconstructed by William Young, including the marble hall in the South Wing.
The back of the house used to be the front. Noble families would always build their houses to face royalty and the back of the house faces Holyrood Palace. You can see Arthurs's seat from the back windows of the house.
The grand marble staircase and Hall are stunning and were modeled on a place in Florence the original earl had stayed.
The rear of the house stood in as the stables at Versailles Palace in Paris in episode 5 ‘Untimely Resurrection’ when Jamie advises the Duke of Sandringham on the purchase of a horse and wanders the gardens with Claire.
The house was transformed using CGI to give it the 18th-century Parisian architectural look. We also meet Jamie’s friend Annalise De Marillac, who walks with Claire through the gate.
We held our Gala dinner and ceilidh at Gosford house as part of our Spirit of Outlander Tours and this included a tour of the house and 18th century inspired candlelit dinner. I can highly recommend visiting as the treasures and art inside are spectacular.
The house is only open for visiting on open days or for private tours. Please check before you travel.
Gosford House is one of the few properties closed to the public and to gain access to walk within the Gosford Policies you will require a permit as the house and gardens are private residences. Contact Gosford Bothy Farm Shop -email email@example.com
Gosford House Outlander Tours or Small Private Tours. These are available for £15 per person, and interested fans can find out more at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Be aware that they require a minimum of 15 visitors to cover the minimum fee of £225 per tour.
There are planned open days at Gosford House with tours of the house and grounds. Check out the website/link for more information.
- For tours on public open days, you may pay cash or with cheques at the door.
- Adults £10
- Seniors and Students £ 5
- Under 16’s free
- Parking - access from the main gate on the coast road on open days. Parking in the courtyard
- Bus Stop - East Coast Buses 124 and X5 stop at the gates.
Situated on the estate is the Craigielaw Golf Club and lodge where visitors can stay and play a round or two. Gosford House opens its doors to a limited number of weddings each year as well.
South Queensferry, EH30 9RW
Hopetoun House is a country home and estate which lies on the Southern coast of the Firth of Forth in West Lothian and was originally constructed under Charles Hope, the 1st Earl of Hopetoun from 1699 to 1701. The architect was William Bruce. He was only 16 when he moved in. It is still the ancestral home of the Hope family. The estate covers 6500 acres, most of which is open to the public and is owned by the 4th Marquess of Linlithgow and the previous Earl of Hopetoun and they live on the estate.
The House and grounds have been used in several seasons and episodes of Outlander. In Season 2 some of the scenes filmed here are -
Next to the red room is the living room. This may be recognizable as the room where Jamie talks with Lord Dunsany at the start of his time in Helwater.
If you continue your tour upstairs, there are two rooms that an Outlander fan may recognize from ep 5 ‘Untimely Resurrection. Both in Bruce House, named after the designer, William Bruce. Claire and Jamie’s guest room in Paris (with the green bed) where Mary Hawkins recuperates from her attack. Jamie carries Mary into one of their guest rooms to recover in the care of Alex Randall. You may recognize the tapestries on the wall.
In another room close by, Claire pays Mary a visit to her Uncle Sila’s home in the Hawkin’s estate to ensure she is okay after the ordeal and to treat her. The four-poster bed is the same but the covers are different
The back of Hopetoun House has been used to represent the Duke of Sandringham’s home, Bellhurst Manor, while the front is recognizable as Ellesmere.
At the stables (behind the cafe) you can find the courtyard used as the entrance to the Paris brothel, Maison Elise where Jamie regularly met Bonnie Prince Charlie, and the Paris streets. In ep 4 ‘La Dame Blanche.
In the same episode, the same area was used to portray the streets of Paris where Mary and Claire are attacked and the French Market scene
At the very back of Hopetoun House, you will find the location where Jamie chases Fergus through the Parisian streets after he catches him stealing and offers him a job in episode 3 ‘Useful Occupations and Deceptions’. If you look along the walls at the back of Hopetoun House, you will find the walls that are featured in this scene. Although it was transformed into a busy street in Paris.
- Shop/visitors center
Admission fee see info in season one blog
Castle Ave, Hunterston, West Kilbride KA23 9QG
The house, Castle, and estate are situated about an hour's drive from Glasgow city center. Access is restricted and only members of the Hunter clan are allowed to visit or by invitation for a private tour. The Hunters of Hunterston have held the Hunter Clan lands for over 900 years since 1107. They were originally gifted the lands by David I of Scotland.
The work began on building the house in 1799 for Eleanor and Robert Hunter, the 23rd Laird of Hunterston. It sits on the grounds next to the Grade A listed Hunterston Castle which has been the seat for the Lairds of Clan Hunter since the late 13th century.
Hunterston House is a popular filming location with films and TV series being filmed there and includes Malevolent, Blackstone, Grandpa’s Great Escape, Jonathan Creek Christmas Special, Hush, Young James Heriot, Sherlock Holms movie, Eve, 39 Steps, Rebus, Glencoe Massacre, Vincent Van Gogh- Painted with Words, Child of Air and of course Outlander in seasons 1, 2, 3 and 4.
I hadn't included Hunterston House in my Season One blog as it's not open to the public but I've included it now in this one as you may be able to get a private tour or just view from the outside.
Frank and Claire's room in Mrs. Baird's guest house, Inverness 1945, was filmed in an upstairs bedroom and all the interiors of the B&B scenes were filmed here.
The area used for the reception desk where Frank and Claire sign in and have a chat with Mrs. Baird about the Eve of Samhain etc is at the top of the stairs
Downstairs Reverend Wakefield's sitting room where Frank and the Reverend have their many discussions about Franks family tree and Claire's disappearance.
The Library is where Frank and the Reverend discuss Claire's disappearance
The kitchen is another room to feature when Mrs. Graham reads Claire's tea leaves and palm
Reverent Wakefieds sitting room is the lounge area of the house, where we see Frank and the Reverend in a discussion about the Randall family history and Franks discussion about Claire’s baby on her return and we meet young Roger
The Reverend's funeral reception is held in the same room and Bree is introduced to Roger and confronts Claire about Jamie.
The Reverend's library features in many scenes, the research that Claire, Roger, and Bree do to try and find Jamie.
Another room of interest is Claire's bedroom when he returns through the stone and where Frank and Claire spend the night talking through how they should raise Claire's child together as theirs. Next door is the shed where Frank smashes up a heap of boxes in frustration.
The library was changed to the drawing-room/library and Frank and the Reverent watch Claire search for Jamie in the history books.
Some scenes were filmed in the garden - where Claire is searching through the archives of Culloden to find Jamie's name and she has a talk with Mrs. Graham
We see Frank burn the clothes Claire has returned in.
In the house, there is one last room so far used in Outlander. This is an L-shaped room. The room is apparently very popular with film crews, the shape being ideal for allowing them to film while keeping their cameras out of shot. It has been used for three separate scenes – Claire comforting Fergus after his rape at the hands of Black Jack, Murtagh and Suzette having fun, and Bree and Roger spending time in the attic.
Craigh Na Dun. Kinloch Rannoch, PH16
See Season one blog for more info
In episode 1, 'Through A Glass Darkly', we are brought back to the stones for Jamie and Claire’s reluctant farewell and we see Claire arrive in 1948. And, in the 1960s, Brianna, Roger, and Claire follow Geillis to Craigh Na Dun, watching her leave through the stones.
Loch Katrine is a freshwater loch and scenic attrition in the Trossachs area of the Highlands in the county of Perthshire and the district of Stirling. The Loch is 13 km long and 1 km wide at the widest point and runs the length of Strath Gartney. Its currently owned by Scottish Water.
The Loch is a popular site attracting both tourists and locals. The loch is surrounded by the Trossachs National Park and draws thousands of visitors each year.
Brenachoile Point is one of the best areas to relax and enjoy yourself. The loch is home to the steamship Sir Walter Scott. Loch Katrine inspired one of Scotts best-known popes ‘Lady of the Lake’ and it was here that Rob Roy MacGregor was born.
At the end of the point is the Brenachoile Point Footsteps that allow you to walk in the footsteps of literary giants including Sir Walter Scott and William Wordsworth. Brenachoile Point can be accessed by foot or cycle from Trossachs Pier, or you can hire a golf buggy to go most of the way. Cars are is not allowed.
Appearing in episode 13, Dragonfly In Amber', Loch Katrine, specifically Brenachoile Point, provides some of the stunning scenery for this chapter of the show. Brianna and Roger spend some time here together
OPEN all year round
- Boat Trips from the Trossachs Pier
see more info on Midhope Castle in Season one Blog
Some scenes filmed in Season Two include
Jamie brings Claire to Lallybroch where Jenny and Ian Snr reside with their children and Jamie insults Jenny by questioning young Jamie’s parentage in episode 7 ‘Faith’.
We see Midhope Castle again, in episode 8, ‘The Foxes Lair’, when Claire and Jamie return home to Lallybroch after their time in France. Unfortunately, this is a brief visit. Jamie discovers his signature has been forged, declaring his support for the Jacobite Rebellion, forcing him to leave once again.
In episode 13 ‘Dragonfly in Amber’ Claire visits Lallybroch in 1968
The Loan, Whitecross Linlithgow EH49 6LW
The park is located between Falkirk and Linlithgow and is 170 acres of woodland open to the public free of charge all year round.
Appearing in episode 10 'Prestonpans', Muiravonside Country Park was used for the scenes depicting the Battle of Prestonpans and for the scenes leading up to the battle when the men were training. It was also the British encampment and the English countryside when Dougal was testing the range of the British rifles.
OPEN all year with Free entry
- Picnic area
2060 Pollokshaws Rd, Bellahouston, Glasgow G43 1AT
see more on Pollok Country Park in Season One blog
The season two scenes are:
Pollok Country Park became the French countryside that Jamie and Claire traveled through between Le Havre and Paris
Jamie and BJR's duel took place here. - It's next to the waterfalls over the river from the Saw Mill.
The Pathway where Jamie and Murtagh stage a robbery stealing the Comte St-Germain’s cargo of alcohol and the same pathway that Jamie and Fergus ride through the park in episode 6, ‘Best laid Schemes’, both the forest and bridge will look familiar
Claire is in pursuit to stop the duel between Jamie and BJR and she drives through PCP and eventually comes across them.
The burial spot of Faith. in episode 7 ‘Faith’
On another path near the Burrell Collection, they filmed the scene where Jamie rides back with the stolen cargo
OPEN All Year.
- Museum and Art Gallery
Battlefield Viewpoint, Meadowmill, off the B1361, Prestonpans, EH33 1LZ
You can visit the site of the Prestonpans battle of 1745. As far as Outlander goes this is not a filming site as it's the actual site the battle took place. I thought it was important to include it as was Culloden Moor as a place of interest to visit.
The Battlefield Viewpoint is a large hill and when you make your way to the top there is a display highlighting the details of the battle. The battle itself took place on 20 and 21st September 1745 and saw the Jacobite Highlanders storm to an unexpected victory over the redcoats as portrayed in Outlander ep 10 ‘Prestonpans’.
There is also an App you can download that guides you around the site.
At Bankton House Doocot near Prestonpans train station, you can watch a 10 min animated short film about Colonel Gardiner the commander of a cavalry regiment in the battle. There are guided tours held throughout the year and can be booked through email@example.com
On the main road at the turn-off to the Battlefield Viewpoint is the Prestonpans Memorial Cairn.
More information can be found here
The battle scenes filmed in Outlander were filmed at TORBREX FARM
Situated a few miles south of Cumbernauld, Torbrex Farm was used in Episode 10 ‘Prestonpans’ to recreate the Battle of Prestonpans. The farm is private property. Many of the battle scenes were filmed within a large marquee set up on the field so the crew could control the environment and atmosphere required.
This farm was used as the site of the Battle of Prestonpans when the Jacobites attack and defeat the British.
The actual battle was originally known as the Battle of Gladsmuir and took place at Prestonpans, East Lothian, just 8 miles from Edinburgh on 21st September 1745. It was the first significant conflict in the second Jacobite Rising. The Jacobites were victorious over the British and was a huge morale boost for them.
This is a clip of Arran Paul Johnston describing the battle -
This is a map of the area
Greengairs, Airdrie ML6 7TU
Torbrex Farm was the location the Battle of Prestonpans was filmed. It is private property but the owners appear to be accommodating of visiting fans. Most of the battle scenes were filmed within large Marquees so the crew could control the shoot and weather.
There are only empty paddocks to see so maybe not one to worry about, we don't include it in our tours.
Touch Business Centre, Touch Rd, Stirling FK8 3AQ
Close to Stirling train station and within an easy drive from Glasgow, Edinburgh, Perth, and Dundee. It's not open to the public but you can view it from the outside.
Touch House is an altered 15th-century tower of four stories and a Garrett, possibly later modified to a Z-plan with the addition of rectangular towers at opposite corners. The tower has a crenelated parapet, around two sides and a cathouse crowns the stair.
The property was held in 1234 by the Frasers, buy by 1426 had passed to the Stewart Earl of Buchan, then was acquired by the Setons around the end of the 15th century.
Sir Alexander Seton of Touch was Armour Bearer to James IV, and the next lord, Sir Alexander, was slain at the Battle of Flodden in 1513. In 1708 the Laird of Touch was one of five lords involved in an unsuccessful attempt to put James VII on the throne, a venture in which Rob Roy MacGregor was implicated. Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed here in 1745.
The property was passed by marriage around 1750 to the Seton-Stewarts of Allanton and Touch, who held it until the 1920s. The family spent so much money on the house and agricultural improvements that Hugh, the then owner, ended up in a debtors’ prison in Dover Castle. The fortunes of the family, however, were later restored.
The property was sold to the Buchanans in 1928, who had Sir Robert Lorimer restore the building.
The building was used as a convalescent home during World War II but is now occupied as a private home. There is a business center in the former stable block.
The house was used as Culloden House in the second series of Outlander in episodes 12 ‘Hail Mary’ and 13 ‘Dragonfly in Amber’ and used by Bonnie Prince Charlie prior to the forthcoming battle.
You can also visit the actual Culloden House - see above
*Information from The Castles of Scotland.
Auchterarder PH3 1NU
The pre-Reformation chapel can be found north of Gleneagles, home of the famous hotel and golf course. Dating back to 1446 the chapel was established by Sir David Murray and is one of the most complete medieval churches in Scotland. The church roof is mostly late medieval in date. Inside there are some interesting things to look out for. Masons’ marks were carved into the stonework by the stonemasons, the rings set into the floor mark where family members were interred in the vault. The last burials were in the 1900s where members of the Drummond family, descended from the Murrays, were buried here. Look for the carved memorial slab on the floor. The symbols, including a skull and hourglass, are memento mori - reminders of death. and the Murray family coats of arms around the interior.
The chapel Used in ep 11 “Vengeance is Mine”, by Jamie, Claire, Dougal, Fergus and injured Rupert shelter and hide from the Redcoats on their journey to Inverness. They are found by a band of redcoats and Claire is ‘released’ as she is thought by the Redcoats to be held captive.
- 1 April to 30 September 9.30 am to 5.30 pm
- The grounds can be accessed all year round
- Free access
- Parking - limited
the Pathfoot Building -Stirling FK9 4LA
Stirling University is a public uni, in Stirling founded by the Royal Charter in 1967. The Pathfoot building is the first building you see, on your left on the hill, as you enter the uni campus by the main entrance.
The Pathfoot building is part of the University of Stirling, built-in 1967 and protected because of its highly regarded architecture. It is a public art space and is used for lectures and exhibitions. The architect is John Richards.
Used in episode 13, ‘Dragonfly in Amber', the Pathfoot Building at the University of Stirling appears as Inverness College, visited by Brianna and Roger, and where they meet Geillis who is speaking to a crowd of people about Scottish independence and Bonnie Prince Charlie. Inside Crush Hall is where Gellis gave her speech about Scotland and BPC.
- January to December.
- 9 am to 5 pm.
- Free to public
- Tours of Art Collection available on request
- Sculpture Trail -not Outlander related but might be of interest
Wardlaw Rd, Kirkhill, Inverness IV5 7NB
Again not a filming site but with significance to Outlander in that it is the burial place of the Lovat Fraser family. Built in 1634 as the burial place for the Lovat Frasers on the end of the original parish church. The roof of the mausoleum was raised and a tower added in 1722 by the then Lord Lovat, the ‘Old Fox’ of the Jacobite Rebellion who it was said was buried here in the crypt. In Outlander Lord Simon Lovat was Jamie Fraser’s grandfather.
It was used by the Lovats until the early 19th century, the building then fell into disrepair until the 1990’s when the Wardlaw Mausoleum Trust was formed to rescue it. This led to a restoration project with Historic Scotland and Lottery funding. The mausoleum is listed as Grade ‘A’ by Historic Scotland.
The legend has been that the body of Simon Fraser Lord Lovat was stolen from London Tower after he was beheaded and brought back to the Mausoleum to be laid to rest. Back in 2016, an investigation was begun to confirm if it was Simon Fraser or not. The lead-lined coffin was opened and what appeared to be the bones of a headless body was inside. There are reports of Simon Fraser's head being displayed on a spike at Traitors Gate at the Tower of London.
You can find out the results on their website.
Tours should be arranged if at all possible and the key picked up from Pilgrim Cottage, next door to the Mausoleum.” Eric is the caretaker and a great guide.
Cumbernauld G68 0BA
Wardpark Film and Television Studios is currently the only elite film and television studio in Scotland. The site has approximately 200,000 square feet of studio space and includes five sound stages, along with production offices and workshops, together with an external green screen area.
The studio is currently occupied by Outlander production, produced by Sony Pictures Television and Left Bank Pictures for Starz. This television drama has proved hugely popular, and work is currently ongoing at the studio to film the sixth series of the show. All previous series have also been filmed at Wardpark Film and Television Studios.
The studios are not open to the public (I've tried several times to get a tour to no avail). You can take a photo out the front and sometimes you can see sets outside or be lucky enough to catch one of the cast heading in through the gates.