ABERDOUR CASTLE - Abbey of Ste. Anne de Beaupé - Aberdour KY3 0SL
Aberdour Castle is located in the village of East Aberdour in Fife. This 12th-century castle doubled as the monastery where Claire and Murtagh took Jamie to recover from his injuries and the torture inflicted by BlackJack in Dragonfly in Amber. The Old Kitchen, the Long Gallery, and the stables were used for filming.
The castle's 12th-century hall house is one of the oldest standing stone castles in Scotland and features a stunning early 17th century painted ceiling.
There are limits on visitors so it's a good idea to book. Masks need to be worn.
- Opening Hours -1 April to 30th Sept -Saturday to Wednesday 9.45 to 5 pm
- 1 Oct to 31 Mar - Saturday to Wednesday 10 am to 4 pm
- Castle may close for lunch between 12 and 1.30 pm.
- Tickets -Adults £6.00 Concession(65+) £4.80 Historic Scotland Members -Free
- Facilities -Parking, toilets, cafe, shop
BAGONIE CASTLE - home of MacRannoch- Markinch, Glenrothes KY7 6HQ
MacRannoch is the gent who helped Murtaugh and Claire rescue Jamie from Wentworth Prison by running his cattle through the castle. A popular tourist attraction and wedding venue, Balgonie Castle features in episode 15 of the first season of Outlander. The hall and courtyard were used to represent the home of MacRannoch, near Wentworth Prison. The castle is located on the south bank of the River Leven near Milton of Balgonie, very close to Falkland. The 14th-century castle is said to be haunted by a number of ghosts including ‘Green Jeanie’ a ghost of a past occupant, a 17th-century soldier, a dog, and a hooded man. The castle is the original family seat of the Sibbald and Lundie Families of Fife.
BLACKNESS CASTLE - Fort William -Blackness, Linlithgow EH49 7NH
This 15th-century castle overlooking the Firth of Forth is used as the setting for "Black Jack" Randall's Fort William headquarters in the series where Jamie receives the horrendous whipping by Black Jack and where Jamie is incarcerated
The ex-artillery fortress is often referred to as "the ship that never sailed" due to its unusual shape.
- Opening Hours -1 April to 31 Mar - Daily Sunday to Thursday 10 am to 4 pm
- Ticket prices -Adults £6.00 Concession (65+) £4.80, Historic Scotland Members -Free -Book in advance
- Facilities -Parking, Toilets, Shop
BO'NESS & KINNEIL RAILWAY - Wartime London - Bo’ness Station, EH51 9AQ
The Bo’ness & Kinneil Railway was transformed into a wartime London railway station where Claire and Frank said their goodbyes. Tour this heritage railway and explore Scotland’s largest railway museum, before taking the chance to board a preserved vintage steam or diesel-hauled train. They even have a Thomas the Tank engine.
- Open -March to October. The museum is currently under renovation and won't be reopened until 2022.
- Tickets -Steam Train or Heritage Diesel train tickets - Enjoy a scenic ten-mile return journey to Manuel along the Forth Estuary, through woodlands, past waterfalls, and over the Avon Viaduct.
- Reserved table or bay for 1 or 2 people £20.00
- Reserved table or bay for 3 or 4 people £32.00
- Seating for up to 4 people inc wheelchair £32.00
- Private Compartment£45.00
- Note:-one ticket is for a table or compartment not per person
- Facilities -Parking, shop/visitors center, cafe/restaurant, admission fee, toilets.
CARLISLE CASTLE -Wentworth Prison - Castle Way, Carlisle CA3 8UR
This English castle in the Cumbrian town of Carlisle plays the part of the execution courtyard where Taran MacQuarrie is hanged in Season 1 Episode 15 -Wentworth Prison. Located in Carlisle in the English county of Cumbria near Hadrian's Wall so not in Scotland but close to the border. The castle is over 900 years old. William the Conqueror ordered the castle to be built with a Norman Style motte and was to be used to prevent invasion from the Scotts. Mary Queen of Scotts was kept prisoner here after she fled Scotland. The castle was used in the Jacobite rebellion by Bonnie Prince Charlie’s army until it was recaptured by the Duke of Cumberland.
- Open -Cumbria’s Museum of Military Life is open 7 days a week all year round (except Christmas Day and New Year’s Day)
- Tickets to the Castle -Adult £11.30 Concession £10.20
- Facilities -Parking, cafe, shop, picnic area, toilets
CHARLESTOWN LIME KILNS- The caves where Claire and Murtagh meet Dougal -Dunfermline KY11 3ED
In Season one, Episode fourteen while looking for Jamie, Claire and Murtagh find Dougal in a series of caves and he tells them Jamie has been sentenced to hang. The lime kilns in Charlestown were used for filming these scenes. Charlestown which is also known as Charlestown-on-Fourth if a village in Fife that lies on the north shore of the Firth of Forth. There are fourteen massive lime kilns built of dressed sandstone and they are the largest group of lime kilns in Scotland, they date from 1778/79, and form part of an early industrial complex. Built into the hillside below the village they form a stone facade 110 meters long by 10 meters high. From the nearby harbour, lime, limestone, and coal were shipped out.
CLAVA CAIRNS -Diana Gabaldon's inspiration for Craig Na Dun- IV2 5EU
You often see Outlander fans trying their luck out on the standing stones. The Clava Cairn is a type of Bronze Age Circular chamber tomb cairn, named after the group of three cairns at Balnuaran of Clava to the east of Inverness and close to Culloden Moor. They date back about 4000 years. The cemetery is made up of a complex of page graves, ring cairns, curb cairns, and standing stones. There is a group of 3 cairns, the main cairn has a stone pathway and at the back or northern side, there is a cup stone. We used our compass and checked the stone is lying exactly ??? degrees. During the solstice, the sun is channeled through the passageway. There are about 50 cairns of this type in an area around Inverness. It's fascinating when you see these types of places and you can't help wonder how they built them so accurately. Definitely worth a visit and having a guide helps with the information unless you do some research yourself. There is a lot of interesting information you miss otherwise.
- Open and Free to visit all year round.
- Facilities - parking
CULROSS, FIFE -Cransmuir - Gellis Duncan's residence -Culross, KY12 8JH
Culross (pronounced Coo-Russ) was used in several scenes in outlander. The village and former royal burgh, and parish, in Fife, are approximately 25 miles from Edinburgh. Originally it served as a port city on the Firth of Forth and is believed to have been founded by Saint Serf during the 6th century. The town is owned by the National Trust for Scotland who has been instrumental in helping preserve the town's historic buildings, many of which date back to the 18th century. In season one it was Cranesmuir, home to Claire’s friend Geillis Duncan and the ear nailed to the pillars scene at Mercat Cross. It's where Claire meets the local priest Father Bain and the two women are arrested for witchcraft.
Mercat Cross - The Pillory scene where the boy has his ear nailed to the cross by Father Bain and Jamie and Claire set him free.
The Study Building in Mercat Cross on Tanhouse Brae was the exterior of Gellis’s house. This house was built in 1610 for a wealthy merchant. There is one scene shot inside the house where Claire looks out the window onto the square below. In Outlander all the houses were painted black and then repainted back to the original colour when they were finished filming.
The pathway down to Mrs. Baxters house leads off Mercat Cross on Wee Causeway - used in Season one, episode three -The Way Out -when Mrs. Fitz's grandson has been poisoned following his visit to the Black Kirk and Claire goes to help.
CULROSS PALACE -Constructed in 1597 to 1611 by Sir George Bruce, the Laird of Carnock. The palace in Culross, once visited by King James VI, has been used in episodes of both season 1 and season 2 of Outlander. In Season 1 many rooms were used in the palace and the Palace has put together a handy Outlander leaflet for fans and placed Outlander signs in each of the rooms used for filming. The staff are friendly and helpful too.
Withdrawing room - Geillis Duncan’s parlor was filmed in the Withdrawing room of the palace.
Culross Palace Gardens - Herb gardens of Castle Leoch where Claire first meets Geillis, where they forage for plants and the stairs where Claire cries as she thinks about Frank.
- Open 1 Jan–25 Apr, closed
- 26 Apr–30 Sep, daily, 10.00–17.00 (last entry 4 pm)
- 1 Oct–31 Oct, daily, 10.00–16.00 (last entry 3 pm)
- Closed 1 Nov–31 Mar 2022
- Tickets - adult £10.50, concession £7.50. National Trust Members -free
- Facilities- Shop, toilets, parking
CULROSS WEST KIRK -The Black Kirk
The ruin of the West Kirk near Culross is the location for the Black Kirk, in season 1’s “The Way Out”. Situated a mile west out of Culross village the 16th century Kirk was to blame for Tammas Baxter’s illness where the village believes he has been possessed but Claire and Jamie visit the kirk and discover he has actually been poisoned by eating Lilly of the Valley. It is a bit of a walk and uneven ground, you can walk up the access route from the West car park.
LEGENDS OF CULROSS - A legend told to us by our guide is that a British princess fell pregnant before her marriage and her parents threw her off a cliff. She survived the fall and in an unmanned boat floated towards her. She then sailed across the Firth of Forth to the land of Culross and was cared for by Saint Serf. He then looked after her son, St Kentigern. Culross Abbey is in the area is where St Mungo was born.
WITCH HUNTING HISTORY -Culross is also has a history of being a place of witch-hunting. It is believed that there were so many witches awaiting trial in the 17th century that the town didn't know where to hold them. Some were held in the attic of the town hall. There are lots of Witchcraft events held there.
Facilities - There are plenty of shops, cafes, and toilets around Culross. Parking is limited but there is a car park as you approach the town near the Palace and Town Hall.
The Red Lion Inn is a great place to eat and grab a drink and they have accommodation There are several great cafes in the village too.
ACCOMMODATION If you want to stay and have a good look around the options are limited but there are a few holiday homes you can book. It's a popular spot though so get in early. These are 3 I found Stay bed and breakfast, Sandhaven and Remarkable 2-bed apartment in Culross. There are probably Air bnb locations too depending on when you want to go.
This stunning medieval stronghold near Stirling was built in the late 14th century by Robert Stewart, Duke of Albany, ‘Scotland’s uncrowned king’. The castle suffered a lot of damage in the Wars of Independence and was later rebuilt in the 14th century.
Doune Castle stands in for the fictional Castle Leoch, the seat of Clan MacKenzie in Outlander, home to Jamie's uncle Colum Mackenzie and his clan in the 18th century. It also features in the 20th-century episode ‘Sassenach’ when Frank takes Claire to visit the ruins of the castle.
The huge courtyard, the great hall, and surrounding grounds are the main areas of filming. They also took a cast of the kitchen fireplace and built a replica set in the studio. The scenes with Geills and Claire gathering herbs with Doune Castle in the background the castle has been with CGI. If you take a digital audio-guided tour you will hear a couple of familiar voices, that of Terry Jones and Sam Heughan
Previously used in Monty Python and the Holy Grail and a lot of others such as Outlaw King and Game of Thrones, Elizabeth: The Golden Age, The Bruce, Ivanhoe, The Wizard of Oz (2015)
- Open -1 April to 30 September - Monday to Sunday, 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
- 1 October to 31 March - Monday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Currently closed for maintenance- check website for further information
- Tickets -Adult £9.00, Concession £7.20, History Scotland Members -Free
- Facilities - Parking, shop, toilets, audio guide
DUNMORE PARK HOUSE - World War 2 hospital France
Claire nursed wounded soldiers during World War 2. This ruined house in Falkirk was used as the field hospital where she was stationed in the first episode of season one ‘Sassenach’.
Situated in Dunmore, a small village between Stirling and Falkirk and built in 1822 for the 5th Earl of Dunmore and his family resided here until 1911. It was a private residence up to 1964 and then a private girls school. The property is abandoned so free to visit but it is in ruins so be careful. It's not one I have visited myself. Nearby is The Dunmore Pineapple, an 18th-century property also built by Lord Dunmore, it's open to the public and you can stay there.
photo of the original house.
FALKLAND, FIFE -Inverness -Falkland, KY15
Falkland stands in for the city of Inverness in season 1 its set in the 1940’2 and then later in other seasons as different eras. The opening scenes are the 1940’s when Frank and Claire visit Inverness on their honeymoon. The Covenanter Hotel became Mrs. Bairds Guest house (you can stay and eat here), the Bruce Fountain is where Jamie’s ghost is looking up at Claire when Frank sees him, the Fayre Earth Gi Shop doubled as Farrells Hardware store where Claire spies the blue vase and Campbells Coffee House was also featured.
Falkland is a beautiful picturesque village and the locals are friendly and happy to talk Outlander.
- Open - Village is always open but businesses have differing hours of operation.
- Facilities -Parking, shop, visitors center, cafes, hotel, accommodation, toilets
FALKLAND PALACE -Apothecary -East Port, Falkland, Cupar KY15 7BY
Falkland is home to the stunning Renaissances style Falkland Palace and Garden which is run by the Nation Trust for Scotland. It's a royal palace of the Scottish Kings and was one of the favourite places of Mary, Queen of Scots. It is definitely worth a visit and they have a great gift shop there. In Outlander is was used in ‘The Hail Mary’ as the apothecary where Claire meets Mary Hawkings who is buying medical supplies to attend to the sick Alex Randall
- Open -11 to 5 pm
- Tickets -Adult £13.00 concession £9.00 free for National Trust Members
- Facilities - shops/visitors center, toilets
FANNYSIDE MILL -Fannyside FK1 3DU
Not far from Wardpark Studio, this 18th-century mill is seen in ‘Rent’ when Claire tells a joke at Rupert’s expense about his left hand being jealous of his right.
The building was built in its present form around 1760. It was a corn mill with an internal wheel. It's a protected building.
FINNICH GLEN -DEVIL'S PULPIT - Liar's Spring - A809 &, B834, Glasgow G63 9QJ
The Devil’s Pulpit is the name given to Finnish Glen. Drymen and Loch Lomond this location was used for Liar’s Spring episode 6, where Dougal asks Claire if she is spying after getting her to drink from the spring to prove her honesty.
The Devils Pulpit is a 100-foot deep gorge that can be reached by defending a 200-year-old staircase into the glen. I think there has been some maintenance done over the years and talk of upgrades due to the popularity since Outlander. The name comes from the rock formation that looks similar to that of a church pulpit, there are different stories about the Glen, some say its where the Devil addresses his followers, others it was once the site of the execution of witches or a meeting place for Druids, possibly all 3, who knows. The water has a red look to it adding to the feel but it's actually the red sandstone that gives it that look.
The film location was also used in the 2019 movie Detective Pikachu and is popular with photographers and nature lovers
Access is free but there is no public transport and you would need a degree of fitness and good walking shoes.
- Open - always open but I wouldn't venture there at night or in bad weather - free entry
- Facilities - parking but there are restrictions and fines are issued if you park illegally
If you want to know more this is a really good blog by Laurence Norah.
(note: the Finnich Glen photo is by Amanda Smith)
GEORGE SQUARE & CITY CHAMBERS -Registry Office where Frank proposes -45 John St, Glasgow G1 1JQ,
George Square is named after King George III and was first laid out around 1718. It has been featured in many films including World War Z, The Fast and the Furious, and of course Outlander.
In Outlander it features in Season 1, Episode 7 ‘The Wedding’, the scene where Frank proposes to Claire. The site is actually behind the Glasgow Chambers and is actually Glasgows Registration Office for births, deaths, and marriages, but in saying that the Council Chambers are definitely worth a visit - check out my Glasgow Blog.
- Open - the square and John Street are open 24 hours a day.
- Facilities - toilets, parking, cafes, restaurants, shops
GLENCOE - PH49 4HX
Glencoe is a glen of volcanic origins in the Highlands of Scotland and one of the most stunning places on the planet. No matter how many times I visit it still takes my breath away. Its known for its waterfalls, trails, and peaks/Munros of which there are 8, such as Buachaille Etive Mor and Bidean Nam Bian. It also has a dark history with the Massacre of Glencoe which took place in 1692 and is probably the most well known.
Glencoe appears in the opening credits of Outlander.
Other films featuring Glencoe are Harry Potter and James Bond’s Skyfall at Glen Etive.
- Glencoe Visitors Centre - Glencoe, Ballachulish PH49 4HX-toilets, food and museum (free), paid parking (free for NTS members), picnic tables, gift shop
- The Green Welly Stop - A82, Tyndrum, Crianlarich FK20 8RY cafe, supermarket, gift shop, toilets, Laundromat
- Glencoe Valley - parking spots
In 1647 the parish church was built replacing the previous one and then repaired and rebuilt several times from 1661 to 1691 and then mostly destroyed in a fire in 1697. The church now known as the Glencourse Old Kirk on the grounds of Glencourse House was rebuilt in 1699. The author Robert Louis Stevenson attended services in the church in his youth and he once described the Old Kirk as the “most delightful place on earth”. He often used his memories as models for the churches in his book. There have been several renovations in recent years but it still maintains its charm and is rented out for weddings and events.
In Outlander in Episode 7 ‘The Wedding’ it was as the chapel Jamie and Claire were married. On one of our tours, we arranged for 2 of our members to have a handfasting to renew their wedding vows, it was a lovely ceremony in a beautiful location.
- Open -You have to make an appointment to visit. Sarah (whose family owns the property) is lovely and more than happy to talk about Outlander filming or the history.
- email@example.com or 07984168026 / 01968 676406
This open-air museum is a fantastic way to learn how the Scottish Highlanders built their homes and lived. It features replicas of traditional turf-roofed Highland crofts with live actors depicting Highland life from the 1700s to the present day.
In Outlander it was used to depict the ‘MacKenzie Village’ in Episode ‘Rent’ where Dougal and his men collected rents for the clan and he used Jamie to collect a bit extra for the Jacobite cause. It also features the wool waulking scene.
- Open Facebook says 29 July 22 - 31 Oct 2022. Wednesday to Sunday 10.30 to 16.00 but the website says opening Monday to Sunday 10.30 to 16.00 -1 April 2022 so contact them by email -firstname.lastname@example.org or Facebook.
- Facilities Parking, shop/visitors center, Toilets, Cafe
- Tickets - admission fee
HOPETOUN HOUSE -Duke of Sandringham's residence Bellhurst Manor -Queensferry, South Queensferry EH30 9RW
Hopetoun House opened in 1750 is a grand stately country house in South Queensferry, near Edinburgh. It's a truly stunning example of grand architecture and is owned and home to Adrian Hope, the 4th Marquis of Linlithgow, and the Hopetoun House Preservation Trust. Hopetoun is a thriving 6,500-acre community. They provide tours of the house and property, and it is also a venue for hospitality, weddings, and outdoor activities like clay pigeon shooting.
In Outlander it portrays Bellhurst Manor, the residence of the Duke of Sandringham. You will recognise The Red Drawing Room from Episode 10 ‘By the printing of my thumbs’ where Claire meets the Duke to request/blackmail him for a pardon for Jamie and later Jamie and Murturgh visit as well. The Steps and doors at the back of the house were for the steps leading up to the Duke's home where Jamie and Murturgh arrive and watch the clan MacDonald leave. Just near the steps the Sea Trail and West Lawn were the locations for the dual between the Duke and the head of MacDonald Clan. The rear of the house near the pond is the view of the Dukes residence
They do provide a Hopetoun House Outlander Map, just ask an employee if you can't find one, they are also happy to answer any questions.
- Open - April to September - Friday to Monday 11 am to 5 pm - last admission 4 pm
- Facilities - Parking, shop, cafe, toilets
- Tickets - house and garden - Adult £11.50, Concession £ 9.50. Grounds only - Adult £5.50, Concession £5.00.
Further information on tickets can be obtained from the Ticket Kiosk during our open season or by calling 0131 331 2451
HUNTERSTON HOUSE -Reverend Wakefields Home -Castle Ave, Hunterston, West Kilbride KA23 9QG
An impressive stately home in West Kilbride, Scotland, the interior of Hunterston House has been used for many scenes in Outlander.
In season 1 Frank and Claire’s room in Mrs. Baird's guest house was filmed here in an upstairs bedroom, Reverend wakefield sitting room where Frank and the Reverend discuss the Randall family history. The Kitchen is where Mrs. Graham reads Claire's tea leaves. The shed where Frank loses his temper and smashes some boxes is next to the house.
Other productions filmed in this location include The Young James Herriot, Vincent Van Gogh-Painted with Words, The 39 Steps, Rebus, Sherlock Holmes, Child Of Air, The Glencoe Massacre. The residence is private property but sometimes allows access to non-Hunter clan members.
IVY COTTAGE MacKenzie property - University, Stirling FK9 4LR
This 18th-century derelict building, owned by the University of Stirling, outside was used as a Clan Mackenzie property in season 1, Episode 5 ‘Rent’.
KINLOCH RANNOCH - Craigh Na Dun -Kinloch Rannoch, PH16
Kinloch Rannock is a private working farm and the location of the fictional Craigh na Dun. The gate to the hill has a sign with “Tullochcriosk’ and a note to Outlander fans. The hill is easily recognisable and even without the actual standing stones quite magical to climb to the top and there is a wonderful view. As any fan knows the stone circle- Craigh na Dun throws Claire back to 1743 where the adventure begins. It was originally seen as the backdrop as Frank and Claire toured the highlands on their 2nd honeymoon and later ventured back in the evening to see the Druids dance around the stones to celebrate the solstice.
Close by is the marker that Frank passes that points to Craigh na Dun in Episode 8 ‘Both Sides Now’.
Kinloch Rannock is approximately 2 hours from either Glasgow, Edinburgh or Inverness
- Open - private property that allows fans to visit. Be respectful
- Facilities - parking
LINLITHGOW PALACE, West Lothian (Wentworth Prison) -Kirkgate, Linlithgow EH49 7AL
The ruins of Linlithgow Palace are situated in the town of Linlithgow, West Lothian, 15 minutes west of Edinburgh. The beautiful place was once one of the principal residences of the monarchs of Scotland and dates back to the 12th century It was unfortunately burned out in 1746. . It was the birthplace of Mary Queen of Scots along with several other monarchs. There is a beautiful ornate fountain in the courtyard, which you can see in action every Sunday in July and August.
In Outlander the entrance and corridors were used to represent Wentworth Prison, where Jamie suffered at the hands of Black Jack Randall and where Claire visited the Governor of Wentworth to plead for his release and then later helped his escape.
- Open -26 March to 30 September - Monday to Sunday, 9.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.
- 1 October to 31 March - Monday to Sunday, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.
- Tickets - Adult,£7.20, Concession £5.40, Historic Scotland Members Free
- Bookings required in advance
- Facilities - Cafe, restaurants, toilets, parking
MIDHOPE CASTLE -Lallybroch/Broch Tuarach - Midhope Castle, Abercorn, South Queensferry EH30 9SL
Midhope is a 15th-century tower house on the Hopetoun estate about 4 km west of South Queensferry near Edinburgh. You cannot access the inside of the property but you can walk around the courtyard and take photos. It is a working farm and there are residences nearby so be respectful. Sometimes access is restricted due to farm works, estate activities, events, or filming on the estate. If you’d like to know more about the history of Midhope you can view/download their Midhope Brief History Pdf
There is talk of it being turned into a distillery with accommodation and hopefully retaining the look of Lallybroch. It is probably the most popular and recognisable filming site from Outlander and is used for the outside shots of Lallybroch, Jamie's fictional home, also known as Broch Tuarach. It's a very magical moment for any Outlander fan to take that walk up the path towards the building.
Midhope features in many scenes throughout Outlander - these are just a few of the ones in season 1 -It is used in the flashback scenes where Jamie tries to rescue Jenny from Black Jack and is flogged strapped to the arch and then carried off to Fort William. Later in episode 12 when Jamie returns with Claire and he has a run-in with Jenny after a misunderstanding about young Jamie’s parentage. In the episode ‘The Watch’ where the cart is set on fire and there are some altercations with the watch members.
- Open - Friday, Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. Numbers are limited and you need to prebook. Close 5 pm in summer and 3 pm in winter
- Tickets -£4.00 per person and a booking fee will apply.
- Facilities - Parking and sometimes a small shop in the parking attendants hut in the car park
POLLOK COUNTRY PARK and POLLOK HOUSE, -several scenes in Outlander - 2060 Pollokshaws Rd, Bellahouston, Glasgow G43 1AT
The park is well known for being the home to the police mounted and dog handing divisions as well as having the world-famous Burrell Museum and the 18th century Pollok House. The lands were previously owned by the Maxwell Family on the Old Pollok Estate. The Stirling Maxwell’s lived on the estate for around 700 years. Sir John Maxwell is known as the 1st of Pollok who was knighted in 1243. Pollok House was designed in 1752 by William Adam. The 10th Baronet of Pollok, Sir John Stirling Maxwell, was one of the founding members of the National Trust for Scotland. His death wish which was honoured by his daughter was that the park is sold to the council on the promise it would be a public space for people to enjoy.
Pollok House is filled with artworks from Raeburn and Guthrie. The Burrell Museum has one of the oldest collections of Chinese Art in the UK spanning over 5,000 years and has portraits from Manet and Cezanne, it also has one of the finest collections of Medieval tapestries. There's the Tudor Knot Gardens, some gorgeous highland cows, which are award-winning and happy to have their photo taken.
The impressive park on Glasgow’s south side is a popular location for Outlander filming it doubled as the grounds surrounding the fictional Castle Leoch, in Season 1, Episode 4 ‘The Gathering’, where Claire plays a game with the local children while she plots her escape. In Episode 14 ‘the Search’, Claire and Murtaugh travel around villages in the highlands and Claire performs as The Sassenach to attempt to find Jamie and they come across a gypsy camp, the scene where Claire is gathering healing herbs in the 1700s. The gardens were used to portray Castle Leoch’s gardens. (along with Culross Palace gardens)
- Open - All Year. Free Access to the park -(Pollok House will have differing opening times so check it out before you go)
- Facilities - Parking, Toilets, Restaurant, and cafe
PRESTON MILL -Lallybroch Mill and Courthouse ante-room - Preston Road, East Linton EH40 3DS
In the village of East Linton is the picturesque Preston Mill – one of the oldest working, water-driven meal mills in Scotland. It provided the backdrop for several scenes during the Jacobite Uprisings. You can take a tour of the mill to see the mechanisms in action and learn about its history and the people who lived and worked there. It looks like something out of a Harry Potter movie with his dutch style canonical roof. We visited this site in 2017, 2018, and then again in 2019 and it was nice to see the wheel had been repaired and was in working order in 2019.
In Outlander his scenic location is used twice in season 1, The most memorable scene is where Jamie mends the mill wheel and the Redcoats come. The other is when the Mills exhibition room was used as the court ante-room where Gellis and Claire speak to Ned Gowan during the preliminary hearing after being accused of witchcraft.
- Open -1 Jan - 29th April closed
- 30 April to 31 Oct - Thursday to Mon - 10.30 a.m. to 5.00 p.m.
- Tickets - Adult £7 Concession £5, Scotland Trust Members - Free.
- Facilities - Parking, shop, tours, toilets
REAPER- The Cristabel -St Ayles, Harbourhead, Anstruther, Fife KY10 3AB
This 118-year-old Reaper boat is a restored Fife sailing herring drifter built in 1902. It has 2 masts and is 70 feet long. It is the flagship exhibit at the Scottish Fisheries Museum in Anstruther and has just undergone a massive Million-pound upgrade. You can go onboard and check it out.
The Reaper was used as the Cristabel which takes Claire, Jamie, and Murtagh to France in Season 2 and in Season 1, Episode 6 ‘To Ransom A Man’s Soul’. we see Claire, Jamie, and Murtagh row out to the boat’
- Open to the public admission is free.
The Scottish Fisheries Museum Trust Ltd E-mail: email@example.com
ROSLIN GLEN COUNTRY PARK -Jamie & BJR duel, Jamie & Claire argue - 78 Crusader Dr, Roslin EH25 9PX,
This wooded glen in the North Esk Valley, near Roslin in Scotland contains several places of interest including Roslin Castle, Wallaces Cave, Hawthornden Castle, and the Rosslyn Chapel made famous in recent years by Da Vinci Code and The Knights Templer.
In Outlander Season 1, ‘The Reckoning’ is where Jamie and Claire argue after he rescues her from Black Jack Randall at Fort William. He asks her to apologise for disobeying his orders not to wander off, and for the risk put to his friends when they attack the prison to help rescue the Sassenach.
- This is a map of the park
- Open to the public -free
TIBBERMORE CHURCH -The witch trial -TibbermorePerth PH1 1QJ
The church dates from 1632 when the local lairds rebuilt the structure on the medieval east-west alignment. A church dedicated to St Mary existed during the late middle ages. On ceasing to be the parish church in 1986 it passed into the care of the Tibbermore Charitable Trust and was acquired by the Scottish Redundant Churches Trust in 2001.
In Outlander Season 1, Episode 11 ‘The Devil’s Mark’ the church is used for the trial of Claire and Geillis who were accused and tried of witchcraft. Jamie comes in and rescues Claire and Gillis is sent to be burned after showing her ‘devil's mark’.
- Open by arrangement with Historic Churches Scotland. -firstname.lastname@example.org
- Facilities -None and Parking is on the road so be mindful
TROON -The beach where Jamie, Claire, and Murtagh say farewell to the Mackenzies and board the Cristabel - Troon KA10
Troon is a popular holiday destination in Scotland based in South Ayrshire on the west coast looking over the Isle of Arran and Alisa Craig. You can relax on the beach or check out the 7 award-winning golf courses or the working fishery and marina. There are lots of cafes, art galleries in the seaside town as well
In the last episode in Season 1 Episode 16 ‘To Ranson A Man’s Soul,’ we see Jamie, Claire, and Murtagh leave Scotland for France, scenes were filmed off the coast of this west coast town. We see Willie, Rupert, and Angus say farewell and in true Angus style, he takes it too far. You then see Jamie, Claire, and Murtagh row out to the Cristabel. These scenes were filmed at Troon Beach South.
- Open All Year.
- Facilities -Parking, shops, cafes, restaurants, toilets
TULLOCH GHRU, Aviemore PH22 1QH
Approximately 2 miles southwest of Aviemore, Tulloch Ghru is positioned on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park. This picturesque woodland on the Rothiemurchus Estate is the setting for Claire's trip through the woodland with Jamie and his clansmen in Episode 1, ‘Sasenach “. It’s also featured quite heavily in the opening credits. It's easily accessible to walkers. The area has also been used to film other TV series, including Monarch of the Glen.